Yarnstorming while traveling

When I travel, I often think about yarnstorming and leaving something behind that reminds me of the vacation and that makes other people wonder and hopefully look at the world a little differently. Adding color to this Icelandic summer is needed. We have had about 2-3 days of sun here in the south west and rain almost every day.

Last week I went to my grandfathers cabin in the beautiful Skorradalur in Borgarfjörður. In that area you can find some amazing nature gems. And you can also find Hespuhúsið. Guðrún dyes einband (Icelandic single ply wool) mostly with herbs. The colors that she manages to bring out are incredible! I have wanted to go there for a long time and with it being so close to my grandfathers cabin, I decided it was time. While driving to the cabin we passed the sign by the road, and I immediately decided that I wanted to decorate it a little.

There is a #yarnstorm brewing. #yarnstorming #yarngraffiti #yarnbombing #crochet #iceland
First. Make you piece. This was made by me and my mother.

BOOM! #yarnstorm #yarnbombing #yarngraffiti #yarnstorming #crochet #iceland #hespa #borgarfjörður
Second. Go to your destination and put your piece up. Remember to take pictures.

#yarnstorm #yarnbombing #yarngraffiti #yarnstorming #iceland #borgarfjörður #hespa #barbaknit
Third. Admire your piece and take pictures.

#hespa #herbdyedwool
Fourth. Visit Hespuhúsið and admire the gorgeous yarns!

Leave a Reply

